One last post: Shooting Dublin with a pro

I spent my last day in Ireland in Dublin, a day I tacked on to my tour so I could catch a direct flight home and avoid Heathrow. What better to do than hook up again with the wonderful Darren McLoughlin of Panoramic Ireland who showed me places I would never have otherwise seen. This time our path was only 8.62 km, shorter than the 10.09 km we walked in Belfast.

We timed this photo walk for late afternoon hoping to catch a sunset over the River Liffey. The day promised to be beautiful, but sadly some clouds appeared. However we did get some nice evening photos in photogenic Dublin.

I’ve arranged my photos by theme in slide shows. I hope you enjoy them.

Buildings

Doors (I’ll work on this series at home!)

The Grand Canal through Dublin

Miscellaneous

The River Liffey

And that’s it for my Northern Ireland (and short Republic) trip. It has been wonderful and such fun sharing with you. Til next time!

10 thoughts on “One last post: Shooting Dublin with a pro

  1. Our guide told us the Dubliners were instructed to paint all their doors black after the death of a royal (I think it might have been Albert, queen Victoria’s husband). Instead, they painted their doors every other color. I was glad to see the tradition remains. You saw some very interesting doors. I missed the Dublin canal, but the Liffey was a familiar sight. I noticed you also weren’t impressed with the “stiffy by the Liffey”, that huge ugly phallic symbol by the GPO.
    I had wanted to return to Dublin some day, and your photos convinced me it is a great goal.

    Like

    • Thanks Shelley. I thought with only a few hours in Dublin I wouldn’t be able to tell what was worth seeing and what wasn’t. Darren was wonderful. If you get back there and want a photographer/guide, let me know. He was full of history as well, very interesting.

      Like

      • You definitely made the right call. I hope to get back to Ireland eventually, to spend more time in Dublin and to explore the Cork area.

        Like

  2. I haven’t spent any time in Dublin during my 2 trips to Ireland and your photos make me long to go again and explore the city! Love the door series!

    Like

Leave a comment