A final day in New York

Sign outside the Guggenheim

My plan for my last day in New York was to visit the Guggenheim and Met Museums – just down Fifth Avenue from each other. The other part of my plan was to have lunch at Rosemary’s. I dined at Rosemary’s two years ago and still remember their caprese foccacia.

This plan meant walking across Central Park three times on different routes, so I have more photos of this wonderful park to show you. (My home away from home is on the west side of the park as are the subway lines I used today, but both museums are on the east side. Today’s step count is pretty respectable!) As always, click on the small photos to see complete images.

The Guggenheim Museum is stunning architecturally. It is built around a rotunda with a walkway that cllimbs the equivalent of five flights. Art work is displayed on the walls along the way, today by Gertrud Goldschmidt, a Venezuelan artist. Her delicate mobiles are such fun to contemplate. I also viewed an exhibtion of Picasso’s early paintings,

Rosemary’s serves the best caprese foccacia ever! The thirty-five minute trip south on the number 4 subway line and the return on the C line was worth every minute. I paired the caprese foccacia with Rosemay’s limonata and enjoyed a little bit of heaven for an hour.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art is enormous! The mere size of it is a little overwhelming and you can’t see everything in one – or perhaps 100 – visits.

I chose two exhibitions: the Lauren Halsey rooftop installation and the Karl Lagerfeld show. Sadly, the line for the Lagerfeld show was so long, I took a pass and enjoyed more time on the rooftop.

When you are on the Met’s rooftop, you feel like you are on top of the world. It is inviting – lots of space to sit and stand and admire the view, and spaces for couturier photoshoots.

Here’s a short video I made on the rooftop showing the view. All the green between me and the city’s buildings is Central Park.

View from the rooftop of the Metropolitan Museum of Art

I have had such a good time in Toronto and New York. I am so fortunate to have a relative by marriage with an available apartment in Toronto, and a sister with a flat in New York City. Not having to pay for accommodation has made this trip possible, and I am grateful to Kevin Young and my sister Shirley for their warm welcomes.

I am also thrilled that Toronto and New York have vibrant post-COVID theatre scenes! Watching Moya O’Connell in The Sound Inside and Laura Linney in Summer, 1976 and the extraordinary Jodie Comer in Prima Facie has lifted my soul from its COVID funk.

Oh, and I’m happy I brought my iPhone 14 Pro instead of my DSLR. 😊. Thanks for coming on this trip witih me.

7 thoughts on “A final day in New York

  1. I sent your blog to my “theater” friend to get us thinking about a trip to NYC in July. Sadly, the plays you saw will all be gone by then.
    We have enjoyed Central Park and several of the museums on prior trips, but have never been to Rosemary’s. I’ll have to check that out.

    Like

  2. Oh, I almost forgot–I only take my iPhone (now a 14) when I travel these days, although when I go to Africa next year, I’ll probably take my camera with the zoom lens. (Not a DSL, though).

    Like

  3. I have visited the Guggenheim and The Met on numerous visits and always enjoyed them. Thanks for the nostalgic journey!

    Like

Leave a comment